Key results

Trust in decline: German institutions caught in a downward spiral of distrust and inaction

Almost two years after the global crisis was declared, the balance sheet is clear: the leap of faith that the government in particular received at the beginning of the pandemic, catapulting it to an all-time high, has been lost. But it is not only the government that finds itself in a vicious circle of mistrust, Germans' trust in the institutions of government, media, business and NGOs is back to pre-pandemic levels, putting them all in the distrust zone.

22 YEARS Edelman Trust Barometer
33,000+ Respondents
28 Markets


Trust bubble bursts
When looking at the general population, Germany has lost an amount of trust compared to the previous year (from 53 index points to 46 index points) and slips into the distrust range (trust score below 50). The top spot as the most trustworthy institution in Germany is no longer held by the government, which has suffered a significant loss of trust (47%, - 12%pts. compared with 2021; global: 52%; -1%pts.).  Just ahead of government is business with 48% (- 6%pts. compared with 2021; global: 61%). The media (47 %, - 5 %pts; global: 50 %, - 1 %pts.) is on a par with the government, followed by NGOs (40 %, - 6 %pts. compared with 2021; global: 59 %, + 2 %pts.).

Discussion culture put to the test
The factors influencing the loss of trust are evident in the case of government and media: instead of being unifying forces (government: 34%; media: 36%; globally: 36%, 35%), both are seen as divisive forces (government: 46%; media: 41%; globally: 48%, 46%) in society. Add to that another questionable trend: 64% of those surveyed in Germany say that people in this country lack the ability to have constructive and civil debate on issues they disagree on.

Leadership crisis spreading
One issue that is also alarming in this context is that those surveyed in this country are increasingly concerned that society's leaders in business (45%; globally: 63%), media (45%; globally: 67%) and government (42%; globally: 66%) are purposely trying to mislead people by saying things they know are false or grossly exaggerated. Overall, the trust in these people, CEOs (36%; globally: 49%), government leaders (36%; globally: 42%) and journalists (41%; globally: 46%), as leaders is negative – all remain in the distrust range. Scientists, on the other hand, are trusted (69%; globally: 75%).

Businesses and employers hold out hope 
In Germany, an employer's communication is perceived to be the most believable source of information. 49% need to see information from their employer only once or twice to believe it (globally: 52%). 25% automatically assume it is true, if they see the information (global: 13%). CEOs are expected to help shape and influence conversations and policy debates on a range of issues. 70% or more in this country and globally believe CEOs should inform and help shape conversations on topics specifically related to the economy, such as jobs and wage inequality. But the majority also want CEOs to inform and shape conservations and policy debates on societal challenges such as technology and automation, and climate change.

Click here to go to the global TRUST 2022 Website.



About 2022 Edelman Trust Barometer

The 2022 Edelman Trust Barometer is the firm’s 22nd annual trust and credibility survey. The survey was powered by research firm Edelman Data & Intelligence (DxI) and consisted of 30-minute online interviews conducted between November 1 and November 24, 2021. The 2022 Edelman Trust Barometer online survey sampled more than 36,000 respondents, which includes 1,150 general population respondents across 28 markets. For more information, visit https://www.edelman.com/trust-barometer 
 

Press contact

Anna-Lena Schildt, Senior PR & Marketing manager of Edelman Germany
Tel.: +49 (0) 40 80 90 36 770 ; 
E-Mail: Presse-DE@edelman.com

If you are interested in knowing more about Edelman Trust Barometer 2022, please contact us:

CONTACT

DIE KERNERGEBNISSE

Vertrauen im Sinkflug: Deutsche Institutionen gefangen in einer Abwärtsspirale aus Misstrauen und Tatenlosigkeit

Die Bilanz fast zwei Jahre nach Ausruf der globalen Krise ist eindeutig: der Vertrauensvorschuss, den vor allem die Regierung zu Beginn der Pandemie erhalten hatte und damit auf ein Allzeithoch katapultiert wurde, ist verloren. Doch nicht nur die Regierung befindet sich in einem Teufelskreis des Misstrauens, denn: Das Vertrauen der Deutschen in die Institutionen Regierung, Medien, Wirtschaft und NGOs ist zurück auf Vorpandemieniveau und liegt damit im Misstrauensbereich.
 

22 Jahre Edelman Trust Barometer
36.000+ Befragte
28 Märkte


Vertrauensblase geplatzt
Deutschland hat bei der Betrachtung in der allgemeinen Bevölkerung im Vergleich zum Vorjahr deutlich an Vertrauen eingebüßt (von 53 Indexpunkten auf 46 Indexpunkte) und rutscht in den Misstrauensbereich (Trust-Score unter 50). Den Spitzenplatz als vertrauenswürdigste Institution hierzulande muss die Regierung mit deutlichen Vertrauensverlusten (47 %, - 12 %pkt. zu 2021; global: 52 %; -1 %pkt.) knapp der Wirtschaft mit 48 % (- 6 %pkt. zu 2021; global: 61 %) überlassen. Gleichauf mit der Regierung landen die Medien (47 %, - 5 %pkt; global: 50 %, - 1%pkt.), gefolgt von den NGOs (40 %, -6 %pkt. zu 2021; global: 59 %, + 2%pkt.).

Diskussionskultur auf dem Prüfstand
Welche Faktoren Einfluss auf den deutlichen Vertrauensverlust haben, zeigt sich bei der Regierung und den Medien deutlich: Beide werden hierzulande anstatt als einigende Kräfte (Regierung: 34 %; Medien: 36 %; global: 36 %, 35 %), als spaltende Kräfte (Regierung: 46 %; Medien: 41 %; global: 48 %, 46 %) in der Gesellschaft angesehen. Hinzukommt eine weitere fragwürdige Entwicklung: 64 % der in Deutschland Befragten geben an, dass den Menschen hierzulande die Fähigkeit fehlt, konstruktive und zivile Debatten über Themen zu führen, bei denen sie unterschiedlicher Meinung sind.

Führungskrise weitet sich aus
Die hierzulande Befragten sind zunehmend besorgt, dass die gesellschaftlichen Führungspersönlichkeiten aus Wirtschaft (45 %; global: 63 %), Medien (45 %; global: 67 %) und Regierung (42 %; global: 66 %) die Menschen absichtlich in die Irre führen wollen, in dem sie Dinge äußern, von denen sie wissen, dass sie entweder falsch oder grob übertrieben sind. Insgesamt fällt für diese Personen, CEOs (36 %; global: 49 %), Regierungsverantwortliche (36 %; global: 42 %) sowie Journalisten (41 %; global: 46 %), das Vertrauen in sie als Führungspersönlichkeit negativ aus – alle bewegen sich weiter im Misstrauensbereich. Das Vertrauen zugesprochen bekommen hingegen die Wissenschaftler (69 %; global: 75 %).

Hoffnungsträger Wirtschaft und Arbeitgeber
In Deutschland ist die Kommunikation des Arbeitgebers die glaubwürdigste Informationsquelle. 49 % müssen Informationen durch ihn nur ein oder zweimal sehen, um diese zu glauben (global: 52 %). Weitere 25 % glauben den Informationen auf den ersten Blick (global: 13 %). Von CEOs wird erwartet, dass sie Gespräche und politische Debatten zu einer Reihe von Themen mitgestalten und beeinflussen. 70 % oder mehr sind hierzulande und global der Meinung, dass CEOs Gespräche über Themen, die speziell mit der Wirtschaft zu tun haben, informieren und mitgestalten sollten: Arbeitsplätze und Lohnungleichheit. Die Mehrheit möchte aber auch, dass sich CEOs zu gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen wie Technologie und Automatisierung sowie den Klimawandel äußern. 
 

Hier gelangen Sie zur globalen TRUST 2022 Website.
 

Über das Edelman Trust Barometer 

Das Edelman Trust Barometer 2022 ist die 22. jährliche Umfrage des Unternehmens zu Vertrauen und Glaubwürdigkeit. Die Umfrage wurde vom Marktforschungsunternehmen Edelman Data & Intelligence (DxI) durchgeführt und bestand aus 30-minütigen Online-Interviews, die zwischen dem 1. und 24. November 2021 stattfanden. An der Online-Umfrage zum Edelman Trust Barometer 2022 nahmen mehr als 36.000 Personen teil, darunter 1.150 Befragte aus der Allgemeinbevölkerung in 28 Märkten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter https://www.edelman.com/trust-barometer


Pressekontakt

Anna-Lena Schildt, Senior-PR & Marketingmanagerin Edelman Deutschland
Tel.: +49 (0) 40 80 90 36 770, E-Mail:
Presse-DE@edelman.com

Wenn Sie Interesse an weiteren Daten des Edelman Trust Barometer 2022 haben, kontaktieren Sie uns:

KONTAKT